At its annual ceremony Friday night, The Toy Foundation unveiled its 22nd annual Toy of the Year Awards.  The lion’s share of the awards in 16 categories (three of which we previewed here at borg last summer) went to LEGO, taking seven awards.  But the top prize, the Toy of the Year, went to Squishmallows from Jazwares.  Four people were also inducted into the Toy Industry Hall of Fame: Johnny Gruelle, creator of Raggedy Ann & Raggedy Andy; Lucille King, founder of the Playskool Institute; Jim Pressman, president of Pressman Toy Corporation; and Bob Wann of PlayMonster.  Six hundred nominations were pared down to 114 finalists by toy industry experts.  Check out the other winners below.

Continue reading