Marvel announces Avengers vs. X-Men face-off in 2012

Yesterday Marvel Comics announced a 12-issue limited series coming in April 2012: Avengers vs. X-Men, pitting Marvel characters Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, and Hulk, against Black Widow, Spider-Man, Cyclops, Storm, Magneto and others and who knows what side Avenger and mutant Wolverine will end up on.

Avengers vs. X-Men will be written by Marvel Architects Jason Aaron, Brian Bendis, Ed Brubaker, Matt Fraction and Jonathan Hickman.  The series artists are slated to be John Romita Jr., Olivier Coipel and Adam Kubert.  Unlike standard limited series, the 12 issues will release every two weeks over a six-month period.  And entering the digital fore alongside DC Comics, Marvel added a new marketing idea: releasing a code for a free digital copy with each issue.

Here is the advance poster promoting the series:

Avengers vs. X-Men follows on the heels of this year’s X-Men: Schism, Fear Itself and Fear Itself: The Fearless limited series and the coming X-Sanction series.

The following re-broadcast of a livestream introduction (44 minutes) with a few of the creators gives some insight into the creative process of the writers for the new limited series.

If you have ever wanted to know what thoughts are behind these guys’ story concepts you may like this.  In particular Jason Aaron’s rundown of the events involving the X-Men and Wolverine leading up to the coming superhero face-off really puts everything into perspective, as does Brian Bendis’s view of the Avengers role in the new series.  The video also includes some nice trash talk between the creators of each of the X-Men and Avengers franchises.

Axel Alonso, Editor in Chief, Marvel Entertainment commented that “We’ve brought together the biggest writers, biggest artists and biggest characters for the biggest story we’ve ever told.  This is the kind of high-octane action-packed story that fans demand while also having a profound effect on every character involved—and reshaping the Marvel Universe in its wake.”

More information is available at

C.J. Bunce


Leave a Reply