Preview–“Space Sessions,” Astronaut Chris Hadfield’s album from outer space

Chris Hadfield album space sessions cover songs from a tin can

International Space Station astronaut Chris Hadfield has another “first” in store for us.  You’ll know Commander Hadfield as the rock star astronaut who recorded his own version of David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” back in 2013.  We discussed his rock video filmed in space here back then at  Hadfield is now releasing the first ever album recorded in space.  And yes, Space Sessions: Songs From a Tin Can will include his hit “Space Oddity,” the song heard more than 26 million times by Earthlings via YouTube.

If an album was ever begging to be released in vinyl, this may be it.  Luckily it will be released on CD, digital, and vinyl.

Hadfield has recounted his missions in An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth and via his photos in You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes: Photographs from the International Space Station.

Ground control to Cmdr Hadfield

Here is a trailer for the album:

And here is “Feet Up,” a single from the album:

Here is the playlist:

  1. Big Smoke
  2. Beyond the Terra
  3. Feet Up
  4. I Wonder If She
  5. Caroline
  6. Jewel in the Night
  7. Daughter of My Sins
  8. Window of My Mind
  9. Space Lullaby
  10. Farm Auction
  11. Ride That Lightning
  12. Space Oddity

I met Commander Hadfield last year.  He is every bit as interesting as you’d imagine.  Read more about meeting him here.

Chris Hadfield & Chris Bunce

Space Sessions: Songs From a Tin Can will be released October 8, 2015.  Pre-order your copy now here at

C.J. Bunce

Leave a Reply