Advertisements

Tag Archive: James Bond: Permission to Die


BondVargrHC-Cov

James Bond’s story did not end with the last Ian Fleming novel.  His exploits have been recounted in a classic comic strip series (including a recent collected edition we reviewed here at borg.com), the movies have often strayed beyond the original Fleming novels and short stories, and licensed novels continue to be published each year.  We even had one limited comic book series, Mike Grell’s Permission to Die.  Dynamite Comics has its own monthly series, and the first six issues are being reprinted in a hardcover edition hitting your local comic book store tomorrow.  We have a preview of the new collected edition below for borg.com readers, plus a preview of the next story arc, EIDOLON.

In the first storyline of the monthly series, titled VARGR, Bond returns to London after finishing a mission in Helsinki.  Taking over the work of fallen agent 008, he embarks on a new mission in Berlin where he encounters a web of secrets. The series is written by Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan, The Authority) with artist Jason Masters (Batman Incorporated, Guardians of the Galaxy).  The new hardcover edition includes bonus materials, including covers and concept art.

Special cover issue 1 3 vargr

Masters artwork along with colors by Guy Major combine to create an authentic early 1960s vibe for the setting.  The story will appeal to fans of both the Fleming novels and fans of the current, grittier Bond of the Daniel Craig movies.  It also manages to keep some of the wink-wink humor of Roger Moore’s Bond.  And better yet, we have new borg in the characters Dharma Reach and Slaven Kurjak.

So check out this preview of James Bond: VARGR:

Continue reading

Advertisements

Uncanny Issue 1 Jock cover

Next Wednesday Dynamite Comics is releasing Issue #1 of a new crime series, called Uncanny.  Writer Andy Diggle and artist Aaron Campbell offer up a modern noir story about a flawed yet oddly powerful American named Weaver set in modern-day Singapore.  Uncanny is similar in many ways to many recent crime monthly comic book series.  It’s an edgy, action noir mixed with pulp spy novel crime story that will appeal to fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ Fatale, Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso’s 100 Bullets, and Jason Aaron and RM Guera’s Scalped.

The update of 1930s-1940s film noir to the modern city is intriguing.  Diggle’s Weaver seems capable of being a variant on James Bond–rugged, overconfident–yet instead of running after the bad guy by all accounts Weaver seems to have created his own problems leaving him to be the man on the run.  Campbell’s art deftly balances the bright lights of the city with the night-time dark tone of a man somehow caught up in the city’s underbelly.  And Campbell’s first issue of the story is heavily influenced by both the recent Bond films Casino Royale and Skyfall.  In fact, his characters, the style and setting are similar to Mike Grell’s James Bond: Permission to Die mini-series.

Continue reading

%d bloggers like this: